District of Columbia


The District of Columbia, commonly known as Washington, D.C., is the capital city of the United States. It is located on the Potomac River and is bordered by the states of Maryland and Virginia. The district is home to all three branches of the U.S. federal government, as well as numerous monuments, museums and other cultural attractions. It is also one of the most populous areas in the country and a popular destination for tourists.